Wings Down Keystone, 4-3

It was a busy night on the score board at the NAHL Showcase Tournament for the Aberdeen Wings as they took on the Keystone Ice Miners, Game 3 of the Wings’ trip to Blaine, Minnesota.

In the first period, at the 12:12 mark Wings defenseman #29 Matt Sherman (D-White Lake, MI) absolutely blasted a slapshot for his first goal of the season and a 1-0 lead. Assists were given to #9 Andrew Noel (D-Houston, TX) and #13 Michael Soucier (F-Caledon, Ontario). Towards the end of the period, Ice Miners defenseman Dylan DeCandia would go to the penalty box for checking from behind sending the Wings on the power play. At 18:11, Wings forward #16 Kyle Haak (F-Okemos, MI) would chip in the rebound from #15 Brendan Riordan (D-Downers Grove, IL). Wings would go into the locker room up 2-0.

The second period started with the Keystone Ice Miners getting two quick goals from forward Matt Jones tying the game at 2-2. Much of the second would be a back and forth battle for puck possession.

In the third, just 40 seconds in, the Aberdeen Wings scored with a pretty goal from #20 Jack Nile (F-Lisle, IL) with assists to #3 Daniel Billett (D-Highlands Ranch, CO) and #12 Austin Heakins (F-Mars, PA). Just 15 seconds later, after the face-off Wings forward #25 Tucker DeYoung (F-Lake Bluff, IL) would score unassisted putting the Wings back to a two goal lead, 4-2. At the 4:24 mark, Keystone would get another goal, this time a deflection off a player in traffic making it 4-3. The Ice Miners would scramble to try and score the game tying goal but would come up short thanks to some great late-game defense and Wings goaltender #1 Chad Catt (G-Williamstown, MI) making some incredible saves. Catt ended the game making 17 of 20 saves. The Wings now improve to 2-1-0 and will take on the Coulee Region Chill in their final game of the NAHL Showcase at 7:00pm tomorrow night. Game will be broadcast on or Wings fans can enjoy the game on the many screens at Tapz inside the Ramada.

ABERDEEN WINGS Stars of the Game

3rd Star – #20 Jack Nile (F-Lisle, IL)

2nd Star – #25 Tucker DeYoung (F-Lake Bluff, IL)

1st Star – #29 Matt Sherman (D-White Lake, MI)


#22 Colin Raver (F-Bartlett, IL)