Wilderness Win Robertson Cup

May 18, 2015

The 2014-2015 Robertson Cup Champions have been crowned…

The Minnesota Wilderness of the NAHL Midwest Division defeated fellow Minnesota team the Austin Bruins by sweeping them in two games.

For the Wilderness, the Robertson Cup comes after only being in the league for two seasons. Led by head coach Corey Millen, who spent 7 years in the NHL, the Wilderness defeated the Coulee Region Chill in the first round of the playoffs. They then swept the defending champion Fairbanks Ice Dogs. The Wilderness would also sweep the Janesville Jets to get into the Robertson Cup series.

Game 1 of the Robertson Cup Final made history for being the longest game in the NAHL record books. In the 4th overtime period, the Wilderness’ Billy Exell would score giving them the 2-1 victory. The next game would be a 4-0 win for the Wilderness earning them the 2014-2015 Robertson Cup.

The Aberdeen Wings were 2-2-0 against the Minnesota Wilderness in the 2014-2015 season.