Roo named NAHL All-Rookie 1st Team

May 5, 2014

On Monday, the North American Hockey League announced the players named to the 2013-2014 NAHL All-Rookie First Team. Among those players was Aberdeen Wings forward #11 TJ Roo (F-Coon Rapids, MN).

The honor comes after Roo put up some of the best numbers in the entire league. For the regular season, Roo was ranked 7th among overall scorers with 54 points. He scored 22 goals and added 32 assists to help the Wings to a 38-18-4 record.

Fans knew when he hit the ice for player introductions, as the entire crowd would go “Rooooo” for an extended period of time. The Wings forward committed to Bemidji State University this season though it is unsure when he will join the Beavers hockey club. Roo’s father also played at Bemidji State.

Others named to the NAHL All-Rookie teams are as follows:


F – TJ Roo (Aberdeen Wings)

F – Parker Tuomie (Wenatchee Wild)

F – Guillaume Leclerc (Austin Bruins)

D – Matt Nuttle (Wenatchee Wild)

D – Wyatt Erge (Fairbanks Ice Dogs)

G – Chase Perry (Wenatchee Wild)


F – Michael Louria (Minot Minotauros)

F – Troy Loggins (Wenatchee Wild)

F – Viktor Liljegren (Fairbanks Ice Dogs)

D – Jon Lizotte (Minot Minotauros)

D – Cody Champagne (Topeka Roadrunners)

G – Stefanos Lekkas (Springfield Jr. Blues)

The entire roster for the Aberdeen Wings excelled this past season, but two notable rookies that stood out include #21 Bjorn Sigurdarson (F-Reykjavik, Iceland) who scored 13 goals and 25 assists; also Wings rookie goaltender #30 Henry Dill (G-Columbus, OH) who was 20-7-1 between the pipes this year. Dill also committed to the University of Massachusetts Minutemen.