Cory Ward Named to NAHL All Central Division Team

NAHL announces 2011-12 All-Division Teams

30 players honored from the league’s five divisions


FRISCO, TEXAS –The North American Hockey League (NAHL) has announced its All-Division teams for the 2011-12 season.  The teams represent the five divisions in the NAHL: Central, Midwest, North, South and West Divisions, as selected by the league’s coaches and general managers.


Central Division
Forward: Charlie Adams, Austin Bruins
Forward: Cory Ward, Aberdeen Wings
Forward: Castan Sommer, Bismarck Bobcats
Defenseman: Christian Folin, Austin Bruins
Defenseman: Bryce Anderson, Bismarck Bobcats
Goaltender: Jacob Meyers, Alexandria Blizzard


Midwest Division
Forward: Joe Kalisz, St. Louis Bandits
Forward: Kyle Cook, Springfield Jr. Blues
Forward: Joe Birmingham, St. Louis Bandits
Defenseman: Garrett Cecere, Janesville Jets
Defenseman: Eric Drapluk, Coulee Region Chill
Goaltender: Tony Kujava, Janesville Jets


North Division
Forward: Andrew Graves, Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings
Forward: Sean Murphy, Traverse City North Stars
Forward: Ian Miller, Port Huron Fighting Falcons
Defenseman: Nolan Valleau, Port Huron Fighting Falcons
Defenseman: Anthony Appleyard, Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings
Goaltender: Kyle Laslo, Traverse City North Stars


South Division
Forward: Jack Prince, Texas Tornado
Forward: Brooks Behling, Amarillo Bulls
Forward: Brian Christie, Topeka RoadRunners
Defenseman: John Rey, Amarillo Bulls
Defenseman: Karl Beckman, Amarillo Bulls
Goaltender: Connor Hellebuyck, Odessa Jackalopes


West Division
Forward: Gabe Levin, Fairbanks Ice Dogs
Forward: Brett Lubanski, Kenai River Brown Bears
Forward: JT Osborn, Fairbanks Ice Dogs
Defenseman: Sean O’Rourke, Fairbanks Ice Dogs
Defenseman: Joe Schmitz, Alaska Avalanche
Goaltender: Robert Nichols, Wenatchee Wild


The All-NAHL Team, All-Rookie Team, Forward of the Year, Defenseman of the Year, Brian’s Goaltender of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, General Manager of the Year and Organization of the Year, along with the Academic Achievement Award, Gongshow Lifestyle Community Service Award and Mark Messier Leadership Award winners, will be announced on May 6th and 7th.


About the NAHL

The NAHL, the only USA Hockey-sanctioned Tier II Junior league boasting 28 teams from across North America, prides itself on the social maturity and skill development of student-athletes ages 16-20 with aspirations of advancing to collegiate and/or professional hockey.  To date in 2011-12, over 110 NAHL players have committed to NCAA schools.  Famous alumni of the NAHL include:  Stanley Cup Champion and Conn Smythe/Vezina Trophy winner Tim Thomas, Buffalo Sabres goaltender Ryan Miller and Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane.  For more information, visit